District News

Thank You OCISD School Board!

Image depicting Thank You OCISD School Board!

January is School Board Recognition Month and Ore City ISD is celebrating its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district and its students.

OCISD wishes to express its appreciation to board members Chris Barton, Tracy Berryman, Bobby Byrd, Bobby Clawson, Virginia Harris, Jeremy Higginbotham, and Matthew A. Pearson, for their dedication and tireless commitment to our district and its students and staff.

The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is "Forward, Together," which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers, and parents on behalf of students.
Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care.

“Texas school boards are critical to the success of students and the future of Texas,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts in the right direction, providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their local schools and communities.”

Learn more about school board service at tasb.org.